The Sidereal Cycle 4
The spring equinox brings The Sidereal Cycle series to its conclusion.

Part 4 offers something extra in the first 25 minutes, providing motifs and variations of “Spem In Alium” by Thomas Tallis (1505-1585). If the beginning of this release seems oddly familiar, this is by design.

My thanks go to Brad at Free Floating for being a superb curator to this series. I’d also like to thank you, the fans of my work. When I started making music so many years ago, I never could’ve imagine receiving such positive feedback. I’m always humbled to know people around the world are enjoying my music.

Thanks for being awesome!

The following words are from Brad:

Every time I try to write about an Altus release, I feel that I have already used up all of my superlatives on his last one. It’s an experience that has been most acute as I have been helping to steer The Sidereal Cycle over the past year.

I believe that Mike has done it once again and gone to the deep well of his creativity and pulled up a cool and refreshing draught of entrancing and rich ambient art.

This final piece of The Sidereal Cycle, Virgo, uses medieval composer Thomas Tallis’s Spem In Alium as a starting point in an impressionistic re-imagining. Gentle, hanging chords are topped by plucked strings to create a heavenly ambience worthy of Tallis’s sacred aspirations.

You now have all four compositions of The Sidereal Cycle and I fervently recommend that you take the time to listen to them in sequence and follow Altus on this musical journey through the year.
Review: Sonic Immersion

Composed January to March 2013
Release Date: March 20, 2013
Catalogue #: FFM-019
Originally released on Free Floating Music
Photo: Jennifer Nish
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.