Below The Root

Prepare yourself for a brooding, cinematic adventure below the root. Listening on headphones in a darkened room is encouraged.

The title is based on a game from 1984 with the same name. The game's story takes place after the Green Sky Trilogy of novels by Zilpha Keatley Snyder. It was one of the first open-world games where you could travel in any direction right from the beginning, presenting a very large gameworld for its time.

As a child, the game fascinated me, but not entirely due to the vast land to explore. I often pondered what lay beyond the gameworld's borders. This music is an aural representation of what one might discover.

Review: Sonic Immersion

Composed June to November 2016
Release Date: January 7, 2017
Catalogue #: ALT-D26
Cover Art: Craig Pineo
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.